Small Moments

I could not post about Hari Kuyo (pervious post) without having a ceremony of my own.

finally...

The day did not go as planned… as days have a habit of going.

I packed up my ribbons and needles and headed to work. I thought that we could do the ceremony there at lunch, since there would also be a lot of worn needles at the office (I work for Janome Canada). Linda, our education goddess, was keen to join in, but I did not have a ‘soft cake.’ As I whizzed past any number of Tim Horton’s on my commute, the thought of picking up a big, honkin’ dutchie doughnut crossed my mind. Why not? They are fresh baked and super soft. But that just did not seem right. How disrespectful would that be? “Sorry needles, no gold watch for your retirement. You get a sticky doughnut. And a double-double!”

Plan B: Go out at lunch and pick up a side order of tofu at Teriyaki Experience. But  work was hectic, and before I knew it, the day was over. So the uncelebrated needles and ribbon made the  trip home.

Before I know it, the clock says 10:30 p.m. With no tofu to be had and the television blaring in the background, I trimmed the crust off some fresh bread and tied my ribbons to a painted skewer. I pulled out a favourite plate and a candle and there in the midst of kitchen chaos, paused to celebrate and thank my needles. It was a small moment. A brief time to make things stop and take the time to reflect and give thanks. My Hari Kuyo.

Everything else stopped. The insignificant became important. This funeral became a small celebration of marks made.

with thanks.

That 'ill do needles...

Of curious interest: Funereal (of or pertaining to the rites of the dead) shares a common root with funis; which in medical terms relates to the umbilical cord. I wonder, what new creations (or disasters) will come to life from my next pack of needles?

A long time ago, Pokey Bolton asked Quilting Arts readers what their New Year’s Resolutions would be. I replied that I would “leave time for layers” in my art making. That resolution gets lost in deadlines and commitments. These small moments are reminders to leave that time for layers, celebrations and feeling the joy in what I do. I think that it is one of those elusive creativity keys. Note to self: leave time for small moments.

One thought on “Small Moments

  1. This milliner (also from Canada by way of Canada) has added Hari-kuyo to my Google calendar in perpetuity. It’s beautiful and I just love the concept. Thank you for introducing me to it. I’m very big on small things. Now I aspire to having a calendar filled with idiosyncratic holidays, observances and commemorations that have special meaning for my own experience.

please chime in

