Am I a SWAG hag?

There are two kinds of artists left: those who endorse Pepsi and those who simply won’t.
Annie Lennox

Annie makes me want to be on the side of those who won’t endorse.
It just sounds so much more pure and good. Artists want purity and goodness (an peace and love and organic foods only eaten with the left hand I think…). But I work in a field that fosters addictions to “stuff.” I participate in the addiction. I buy the stuff. I use the stuff. I write about the stuff. I market stuff. Some of the stuff pays my salary.

Stuff comes in many varieties. The stuff of my work life is the occasional free spool of thread or bundle of fabric. I get this stuff to use in my writing and teaching. Does this stuff corrupt me? Does it make my writing less than pure or impartial? That is the question I am asking myself today.

S.W.A.G.= STUFF we all get! Celebrity swag bags are legend. Most any group will trample someone who tries to grab more than their fair share of stuff or (gasp!), the last bag of stuff!  Stuff can be anything:  a tote bag, a back scratcher or logo-emblazoned fly swatter. At parties that I have never been to, the stuff is limited edition, out of my lifestyle range and given to those who need it least. But it all comes from the same motivation: to sell more stuff.
Either I will want stuff that I see trusted teachers or celebrities using or I will aid in the selling of stuff by using and loving it in my work. I am both an influencer and influencee in the ever turning wheel of stuff!

Am I over analyzing? Are we all just jaded enough to understand this and make informed choices regardless of the hype? Is the hype always a capitalistic sin? Or is it okay to launch and be a part of the corporate – consumer conversation that introduces and improves brands (blah, blah, yackety, yack…) so long as there is full disclosure?

I very much appreciate that I have been given some free thread and fabric for the book, but I still need way more thread and fabric to write it . (This, I pay full retail for and then try to hide parts of in my household budget because I am way over-stuffed!). I don’t think that I am overly influenced by the ‘freebies.’ Because I work in this artsy-quilty-crafty world, I use more than the average stitcher. In the complex equation of stuff consumption divided by free stuff yielding my moralistic stuff use ratio, I THINK I am okay.

But then again, I am a stuff addict. Can anything that I say be trusted?

One thought on “Am I a SWAG hag?

  1. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long
    comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to
    say superb blog!

please chime in

